top of page
  • Writer's picturechristianbooksandc

Author Interview with Penny Zeller



I got the pleasure of interviewing author Penny Zeller! I’m so excited! Check out the interview below.


When did you start writing?

 

Hello, Melissa! Thank you so much for having me as your guest.I have had a love for writing since I was in second grade and rewrote Bible stories in my own little second grade commentary. Throughout my school years, I would write stories and “publish” them in homemade cardboard books. In high school, I wrote stories where my friends were the main characters.

 

Fast forward several years when I surrendered my writing to the Lord. I quit my full-time job with a social services governmental agency so I could stay home with my daughters. That was the start of my career, beginning with writing magazine articles. Writing is my ministry and my passion and I pray I will glorify Him with each word I write.

 

What was your inspiration for this book?

 

The idea for Forgotten Memories came from reading a real-life story about a mail-order bride named Eleanor who inadvertently made plans to marry a criminal. The story did not have a happy ending because Eleanor recognized him at the last minute as the one who had robbed her stagecoach.

 

After reading Eleanor’s story, my imagination wandered and “what-ifs” filled my mind. What if something similar happened to a character who, years later, fell in love with a man who robbed her? What would happen when the truth was discovered? Was there any hope for a happily-ever-after?

 

Thus, Annie and Caleb’s story was born.

 

How much time do you spend doing research?

 

It varies for each book. For Forgotten Memories, I spent time online and also in a phone interview with the wonderful staff at the Wyoming Territorial Prison.

 

What is your favorite book you’ve written?

 

That’s a hard one. Love in Disguise, Kaydie, and Forgotten Memories would all be favorites.

 

What is your favorite romance trope?

 

My favorite romance trope would probably be where the main characters start out as nemeses. 😊

 

What other hobbies do you have besides writing?

 

When I’m not dreaming up new characters, I enjoy spending time with my husband and daughters and camping, hiking, canoeing, biking, reading, running, gardening, and playing volleyball.

 

Thank you again for having me as your guest. It was great to be here!

14 views0 comments
bottom of page